1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We've had very few donations over the year. I'm going to be short soon as some personal things are keeping me from putting up the money. If you have something small to contribute it's greatly appreciated. Please put your screen name as well so that I can give you credit. Click here: Donations
    Dismiss Notice

Recipe Developing Recipes

Discussion in 'Tilted Food' started by snowy, May 5, 2015.

1. snowy

snowy so kawaii Staff Member

As most of you know, I'm an avid home cook, and I develop a lot of my own recipes. This strikes some people as especially intimidating, as if I'm stepping outside of the established boundaries of cookery by doing so. Most of these people, of course, are those with skill levels low enough that they are entirely reliant on a recipe, but more importantly, they're afraid to screw up.

Cooking = science, and there are going to be mistakes along the way. That's part of the process.

My process is pretty simple in developing new recipes. In general, my recipes marry two things: tastes and techniques. I think of what cuisine I'd like to eat from (French, Italian, Greek, Mexican, Indian, Thai, Korean, Japanese, etc), think of the flavors that make up something from that cuisine (i.e. hot pepper, cumin, and Mexican oregano for Mexican; soy, miso, ginger, dashi for Japanese, etc), and then try and figure out a technique (saute, braise, roast, bake, etc) that will suit the flavor profile I'm going for along with what I have on hand. It's a synthesis.

I also frequently look at extant recipes, see what works for me, eliminate what doesn't, and proceed. This is how I came up with my take on bibimbap. Generally, in posting these adjusted recipes online, I try to post a link to the recipe that inspired my take.

Do you develop your own recipes? If you don't, what stops you? What are some recipes you are particularly proud of?