1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We've had very few donations over the year. I'm going to be short soon as some personal things are keeping me from putting up the money. If you have something small to contribute it's greatly appreciated. Please put your screen name as well so that I can give you credit. Click here: Donations
    Dismiss Notice

Genealogy. Anyone interesting in your family tree?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Katia, Jan 5, 2015.

1. Katia

Katia Very Tilted

I've been doing some genealogy off and on for several years now. I'm certainly no expert at it, but have traced my roots back to the 1700's in part. Discovered that Mickey Rooney is my third cousin.

So, does anyone have some interesting people or stories from their tree?

• Like Like x 1
  2. Borla

Borla Moderator Staff Member

My wife is nearly obsessed with such things, or has been at various times over the last several years. I have an uncle who did a massive amount of research about 20 years ago (much harder back then!) and traced the family back to the 1500s in Scotland. My wife has piggybacked on his research and filled in some blanks. She's also done quite a bit on both sides of her family, though I don't think much goes back past the mid-1800s there that she can find.

One of my ancestors was a signer of the Declaration of Independence. :)

• Like Like x 2
  3. rogue49

rogue49 Tech Kung Fu Artist Staff Member

Supposedly....

I'm related to John Adams and John Quincy Adams on my mother's side (her mother).
    And could be a Daughter of the American Revolution and came across on the Mayflower.
    Also on my mother's side (her father) my great grandfather owned a series of speakeasies behind a chain of drugstores in the greater NYC area. (lost millions in the Stock Market crash)

Again supposedly, on my dad's side, my great great grandfather was a Cherokee chief.