1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We've had very few donations over the year. I'm going to be short soon as some personal things are keeping me from putting up the money. If you have something small to contribute it's greatly appreciated. Please put your screen name as well so that I can give you credit. Click here: Donations
    Dismiss Notice

Irene cometh

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by DamnitAll, Aug 25, 2011.

1. DamnitAll

DamnitAll Wait... what?

The last time I was anywhere near a major hurricane was in 1985, living in Westchester County when Gloria hit New York. Clearly, I am not an expert.

My area, 150mi inland, won't get the worst of Irene this weekend, but she's due to hit the mid- and north-Atlantic coast pretty hard, hard enough that New York's Mayor Bloomberg has called for more drastic storm preparations—shutting down the entire subway system on Saturday night, for example— than I can remember ever hearing of.

So who's bracing for the storm? Who's ready? Who's nervous? And who thinks she won't amount to much of anything at all?

2. Zen

Zen Very Tilted

Hi Damnitall
    I'm in England, and the Great Storm of 1987 is the worst I've lived through. It is not in the league of y'all's hurricanes, but I have close friends who were close to or caught in them. Regarding this one, I wish you the very best..

3. CinnamonGirl

CinnamonGirl The Cheat is GROUNDED!

My family was vacationing in Florida when Hurricane Allison hit; which, if I remember correctly, was pretty minor. All we did was drive farther inland (much to my disappointment. I was 14 at the time and desperately wanted to go to a Hurricane Party.)