Tilted Forum Project Discussion Community  

Go Back   Tilted Forum Project Discussion Community > Interests > Tilted Gaming


 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2003, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tilted
 
So, peoples opinions on World of Warcraft

What are your expectations for this game?
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 12:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Knight of the Old Republic
 
Lasereth's Avatar
 
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Expectations? I expect that after a month or so it'll already be turned into 1337-ville like EverQuest and the rest of the MMORPGs. That sure as hell won't keep me from playing it, though. I just want a new MMORPG with better graphics and slightly improved gameplay. There's not much more you can expand on that the current MMO's haven't already did. You can refine it and touch it up, but most of the "good" ideas have already been done. I'm not saying this is a bad thing, however. I'm looking forward to it, but I simply won't buy it unless it gets good reviews.

-Lasereth
__________________
"A Darwinian attacks his theory, seeking to find flaws. An ID believer defends his theory, seeking to conceal flaws." -Roger Ebert
Lasereth is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 01:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Insane
 
Location: ND
It is being developed from blizzard, so it will probably surpass my expectations as every other game of theres has. I like the more, should I say, Cartoonish appearance than the realistic look, IE. Doac and SWG. Not that im saying those are bad, but the colors in WOW look more invigorating. I like the Warcraft storyline. Ive played almost every mmorpg under the sun, and I can say im more excited for this one than any previous, current, or future games Im awaure of.
__________________
You cant help from growing old, but that doesnt mean you have to grow up.
dr_clocker is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Psycho
 
krazixs's Avatar
 
Location: courtin in the kitchen
I believe that people make a mistake in generalizing it as just another MMORPG, as a game it will be mind blowing. Blizzard consistently makes fantastic games. Much to the consternation of gamers everywhere, as we all know they don't mind taking a decade to complete a project. In itself it will be a great game, I think this is what will set the standards higher for MMORPG's everywhere
__________________
The Kender in your party has just screamed in fear. Please roll a d20 to see how many of your body parts are still identifiable.
krazixs is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 02:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knight of the Old Republic
 
Lasereth's Avatar
 
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Well, getting the consumers' hopes up for a game is also what can destroy a game. If we think it's going to be the best ever/genre revolutionizing/perfect, then we WILL be let down. I'm expecting above average, but not much more than that. Sure, we can see all sorts of screen shots and plot info, but when it all boils down to it, the gameplay determines if it's gonna suck.

-Lasereth
__________________
"A Darwinian attacks his theory, seeking to find flaws. An ID believer defends his theory, seeking to conceal flaws." -Roger Ebert
Lasereth is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
He's My Girl
 
Location: The Champagne Douche
I hope that it doesn't have the terrible timesinks that EQ has. You spend an hour getting one blue, you die, then you have to exp for 2 more hours to make up for it. That's the aspect I detested about EQ well and all the loot doods but I don't think even WOW will be able to do anything about the latter.

I'm still looking at EQ2 instead of WOW. I hope Sony gets their shit in order and I am not a fan of cartoonish looking characters.
__________________
The fortunes of war favored Hrothgar.
Hrothgar is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Crazy
 
Location: Vincennes, IN
It looks like it could be really good. Unfortunatly because it's pay to play I avoid checking out what all it offers. If I did I'm sure I would be even more impressed.

There are some pretty cool MMORPG's but I try to ignore them as best as I can. If I don't then I will end up counting down it's release date.
__________________
Sorry, you can not add yourself to your own list.
Zello is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 03:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Psycho
 
Location: Salt Lake City
Pay 2 play just means that more content is added as time goes on, I see no problem doing that it's not like a game where they put it out and you get no csr or new added content.
__________________
The most important things are the hardest things to say. They are the things you get ashamed of because words diminish your feelings. Words shrink things that seem timeless when they are in your head to no more than living size when they are brought out. -Stephen King
Beltruckus is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 03:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
rrf
Crazy
 
Location: Clemson
im tired of these massively multiplayer games... im waiting for them to start making Starcraft 2
rrf is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 04:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Loser
 
i too have played most of the mmorpgs that have come out after everquest, i usually lose interest in them after playing for a month, but it wont stop me from buying this one and playing it for a month or two.

and yeah.....the best thing blizzard could ever do is make starcraft 2.
goatse is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 05:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
JcL
Crazy
 
Location: Simi Valley, CA
I read a hands on preview of WoW the other week, and they were very praising of the game already. I'd have to say that Lasereth's response sure is, cynical perhaps is the word. Its hard to say what new could be done til you see it. I think Blizzard should pleasantly surprise everyone - theres always something new possible.
__________________
"Convictions are more dangerous enemies of truth then lies." - Nietzsche
JcL is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 06:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Insane
 
I really hope this game is awsome.. but i'm not going to work myself up over it. When it comes out i'll try it like I do all the others. I'm also waiting for Horizons.. been following that one a while.
__________________
"Your life is yours to live, go out and live it" - Richard Rahl
Booboo is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 08:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Loser
 
I think it's going to be the best MMORPG in a long time. I'm quite sure it's going to beat out EQ 2. The only reason EQ will start better is that it's just so old and everything is cohesively run as far as game mechanics go. EQ has been improved on time and time again, so just give WoW time, and it will shine brighter than any before. I hope.
clydestinkybeef is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 08:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junkie
 
Location: Michigan
Well, i've learned that with MMORPGs, dont expect anything. If you do, you will just be dissapointed. However, my HOPES for this game are pretty high. As previously stated, blizzard has yet to make a shitty game. In fact, all their games are top notch, and some of the best games out there. Also, a lot of input from players has been put into this game. Its a game made mostly by gamers, with a few members of LoS from Everquest hired by blizzard to work on it.

The screens look amazing, the gameplay looks good. Nothing about this game looks bad thus far. The only thing I hope for now is some good PvP. That was one of the areas EQ sucked ass.
__________________
Go Pistons!
Nimbletoe is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 08:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Swashbuckling
 
Location: Iowa...sometimes
While I've never played a MMORPG, I'm hardcore Blizzard and am looking forward to playing this.

I know that Blizzard said that a 56K would suffice for this game, but do MMOPRG's require lots of bandwidth, or is it more hardware driven?
__________________
Watch More TV
BuddyHawks is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 08:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Loser
 
You're gonna need both hardware and a good connection. 56k will most likely work, just make up for it with a good video card.
clydestinkybeef is offline  
Old 09-09-2003, 04:06 AM   #17 (permalink)
We are everywhere...
 
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Three months after WoW releases, I'm sure it will be a great game. Don't get me wrong, I'll pick it up on the first day, but you know it's going to have the same problems pretty much every MMORPG has at launch.
__________________
You can be young only once, but you can be immature for the rest of your life...
Baldrick is offline  
Old 09-09-2003, 04:20 AM   #18 (permalink)
Insane
 
Location: Austria
for me it has to be better than EQ II , i played EQ for now 3 years and the world there is also very rich on stories , places ... if Everquest II is any good , i will stick with it.

Currently are not many infos out for WoW , i like alot of content and i think Everquest 2 will be great as i still love EQ

p.s heheh i will test WoW for sure , to many good games from Bilzzard but i guess a MMRPG is something complete new than somesort of RTS or HACK / SLASH
__________________
*****************************
For every human problem, there is a neat, simple solution; and it is always wrong.
******************************
cradeg is offline  
Old 09-09-2003, 10:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
Tilted
 
Thought I should note:

RUMOR has it that, because of Blizzard's policy of always making their games free online (Diablo, Diablo II), that WoW will cost less comparitivly than other online RPG's.

RUMOR only.
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 01:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
JcL
Crazy
 
Location: Simi Valley, CA
As long as its not priced like Star Wars Galaxies...

I haven't heard that rumor before but it may have merit. WoW should hit some fantastic numbers for subscribers, and Blizzard might be a bit more generous then others.

I posted this in another thread (Starcraft2 thread maybe) but I'll link it here too. Its the recent CGW article on WoW. It announced the new races (undead, gnome, troll) and was hands on. Its a good read and certainly makes me anxious to get my hands on the beta.

http://babelfish.altavista.com/babel...%2Fkey_word%2F
__________________
"Convictions are more dangerous enemies of truth then lies." - Nietzsche
JcL is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 02:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Knight of the Old Republic
 
Lasereth's Avatar
 
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
I think WoW will be at least $10.00 a month if not more. They know people will pay it, too.

-Lasereth
__________________
"A Darwinian attacks his theory, seeking to find flaws. An ID believer defends his theory, seeking to conceal flaws." -Roger Ebert
Lasereth is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 06:38 PM   #22 (permalink)
Funran
 
Location: Norman, OK
Final fantasy XI thats all.
__________________
How much is y'all Piolkles?
IckUber is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 06:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
Swashbuckling
 
Location: Iowa...sometimes
I predict $12/month
__________________
Watch More TV
BuddyHawks is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 07:25 PM   #24 (permalink)
lost and found
 
Johnny Rotten's Avatar
 
Location: Berkeley
It will sell like hotcakes. Blizzard's reputation plus a familiar universe will draw the kinds of numbers Sony Online execs wish they gotten with SWG. I think it will also be delayed several months, because they won't give it to us until it's done. Even a half-assed Blizzard job is better than most of the MMO launches I've seen.
__________________
"The idea that money doesn't buy you happiness is a lie put about by the rich, to stop the poor from killing them." -- Michael Caine
Johnny Rotten is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 11:16 PM   #25 (permalink)
undead
 
Location: nihilistic freedom
Yup. I haven't seen one weak Blizzard release yet. So, naturally I'm sure WOW is gonna be damn cool. Then again, this is the most different thing I've seen Blizzard take on... so, who knows...
nothingx is offline  
 

Tags
opinions, peoples, so, warcraft, world

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:04 AM.

Tilted Forum Project

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
© 2002-2012 Tilted Forum Project

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360