Tilted Forum Project Discussion Community  

Go Back   Tilted Forum Project Discussion Community > Interests > Tilted Gaming


 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2004, 12:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
At The Globe Showing Will How Its Done
 
MahlerIsGod's Avatar
 
Location: London/Elysium
Chronicles Of Riddick - Reviews

I heard this game is great. THe reviews for the game on Gamespot, Gamespy, etc. are incredible but I am still a little skeptical. Maybe its my own dislike of Vin Diesel? Or maybe I am getting movie game flashbacks from Enter The Matrix? I am very interested in if any got this game and what they thought about it. Thanks.
__________________
"But a work of art is a conscious human effort that has to do with communication. It is that or its nothing. When an accident is applauded as a work of art, when a cult grows up around the deliciousness of inadvertent beauty, we are in the presence of the greatest decadence the West has known in its history."
MahlerIsGod is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 01:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Insane
 
I have this preconceived view of Vin Diesel=Crap.

I might just rent it though, maybe this game will change my opinion of Vinny.
buclao is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knight of the Old Republic
 
Lasereth's Avatar
 
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
I think Vin Diesel is awesome. Fast and the Furious was alright, and xXx was pretty good too. Electronic Gaming Monthly gave it a Silver Medal with a 9, 8.5, and 8. That's a damn good review for a sleeper game like Riddick. I'll definitely get it if the movie is any good.

-Lasereth
__________________
"A Darwinian attacks his theory, seeking to find flaws. An ID believer defends his theory, seeking to conceal flaws." -Roger Ebert
Lasereth is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Muffled
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Location: Camazotz
Penny Arcade supported it, and they are pretty honest about stuff.
__________________
it's quiet in here
Kadath is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 04:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Just here for the beer.
 
Wyodiver33's Avatar
 
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Floriduh
Vin(cent) Diesel is just a terrible actor. He was ok in Pitch Black and Saving Private Ryan, But I just really can't stand him any more. If you like him, more power to ya. You might also enjoy movies with Steven Segal and Chuck Noris in them. Oh, and let's not forget that Jean-Claude Van Damme "actor."
__________________
I like stuff.
Wyodiver33 is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 04:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
At The Globe Showing Will How Its Done
 
MahlerIsGod's Avatar
 
Location: London/Elysium
GameSpot.com give it a 9.3 and called it one of the best Xbox ever. It was an Editor's Choice at Gamespot and IGN. I hope this bodes well.
__________________
"But a work of art is a conscious human effort that has to do with communication. It is that or its nothing. When an accident is applauded as a work of art, when a cult grows up around the deliciousness of inadvertent beauty, we are in the presence of the greatest decadence the West has known in its history."
MahlerIsGod is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Knight of the Old Republic
 
Lasereth's Avatar
 
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Quote:
Originally posted by Wyodiver33
Vin(cent) Diesel is just a terrible actor. He was ok in Pitch Black and Saving Private Ryan, But I just really can't stand him any more. If you like him, more power to ya. You might also enjoy movies with Steven Segal and Chuck Noris in them. Oh, and let's not forget that Jean-Claude Van Damme "actor."
Damn, he's simply not that bad of an actor! He sounds too tough, he has huge muscles, and he's a self-proclaimed badass...but that doesn't mean he's destined to be a bad actor. The actors you mentioned do suck, but Vin Diesel is heads and tails above them. I think it's simply the plots of the movies he's in that people hate, not the actual acting ability. It's not the plot of the movies that matters the most -- it's how the director portrays it through the characters. I think Diesel does a good job with every role he's in.

-Lasereth
__________________
"A Darwinian attacks his theory, seeking to find flaws. An ID believer defends his theory, seeking to conceal flaws." -Roger Ebert
Lasereth is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 08:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Swashbuckling
 
Location: Iowa...sometimes
i dont like the actor.

and althought i havn't read reviews , i just dont trust games that come out the same time as the movie
__________________
Watch More TV
BuddyHawks is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 09:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
I can't think of a good title
 
Lokus's Avatar
 
Location: East Bay Area, CA
Vin Diesel made Pitch Black worth watching, I love him for it.

Johns: How's it look?
Riddick: Looks clear.
*bunch of aliens fly right in front of Johns and Riddick*
Johns: I thought you said it was clear.
Riddick: I said it *looked* clear.
Johns: Well, how's it look now?
Riddick: Looks clear.

*after snapping neck of alien*
Riddick: Did not know who he was fucking with.
__________________
The black wind howls...
Lokus is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 09:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Blood + Fire
 
Mr.Deflok's Avatar
 
Location: New Zealand
Vin's performance in The Iron Giant was phenomenal Vin hasn't been in an "acting" movie so we can't judge him fairly on this, one thing is for certain, he has a powerful on-screen presence. xXx was a terrible piece of fucking shit though.

Looking forward to this game, it's a rare thing for a movie tie in game to actually be good, quite frankly from the videos I've seen it looks like one of the most technically advanced (in terms of graphics) games out there right now. Loved Pitch Black too.
Mr.Deflok is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 11:35 AM   #11 (permalink)
Thats MR. Muffin Face now
 
losthellhound's Avatar
 
Location: Everywhere work sends me
Did his game company do any work on the game at all?
__________________
"Life is possible only with illusions. And so, the question for the science of mental health must become an absolutely new and revolutionary one, yet one that reflects the essence of the human condition: On what level of illusion does one live?"
-- Ernest Becker, The Denial of Death
losthellhound is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 01:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
lost and found
 
Johnny Rotten's Avatar
 
Location: Berkeley
Chronicles of Riddick owns me

I'm talking about the Xbox game, Escape from Butcher Bay. There's no multiplayer, and you can get through it in less than ten hours, but boy is it good times. Part of it might have been that I had low expectations because it's a "movie game," but it rox my sox. It's like Splinter Cell meets Doom 3. Solid combat mechanics, top-notch visuals, excellent voice acting (with Vin doing the main character) and a ton of sci-fi personality. If you're interested in the movie, this might help you understand who Riddick is. Or not. Who knows, I've seen only trailers of the movie. Whatever the case, it kicks my ass. In a good way.
__________________
"The idea that money doesn't buy you happiness is a lie put about by the rich, to stop the poor from killing them." -- Michael Caine
Johnny Rotten is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 04:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Death Card
 
Ace_O_Spades's Avatar
 
Location: EH!?!?
yes... but there wasnt a thread about it rocking people's socks off was there
__________________
Feh.
Ace_O_Spades is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 08:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Psycho
 
Could you be more specific. I know this game is great, but which part is great. The scripted sequences or just the enemy AI.
__________________
It did not really matter what we expected from life, but rather what life expected from us.
Dr. Viktor E. Frankl
charlesesl is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 12:47 AM   #15 (permalink)
Blood + Fire
 
Mr.Deflok's Avatar
 
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
Originally posted by losthellhound
Did his game company do any work on the game at all?
Yup, they co-developed it (minimally), more interesting is the fact that Vin helped with the design-work of the game. He's a man of many talents and is completely underated, sure not all his movies are great but he definately a very creative and interesting person.
Mr.Deflok is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 01:02 AM   #16 (permalink)
With a mustache, the cool factor would be too much
 
Fremen's Avatar
 
Location: left side of my couch, East Texas
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr.Deflok
Yup, they co-developed it (minimally), more interesting is the fact that Vin helped with the design-work of the game. He's a man of many talents and is completely underated, sure not all his movies are great but he definately a very creative and interesting person.
I saw an interview with Vin on the new G4techtv channel, telling a story about when he and Dame Judy Dench would get together to discuss the CoR movie.
That one of the things they talked about was games, particularly his love for Dungeons & Dragons.
He said he was pleasantly surprised that she had an interest in Sci-fi/fantasy like he himself does.
So ol' Vinny D. isn't such a one dimensional guy like we all assumed.
(if I'm recalling all this correctly, that is.)
__________________
Google
Fremen is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 05:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Insane
 
TheKak's Avatar
 
Location: Virginia
Vin is a pretty talented guy IMO. I even saw videos of him breakdancing a few days ago! I'll see if I can find them again.
__________________
Roses are red, violets are blue, I'm a schizophrenic and so am I.
TheKak is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 05:35 AM   #18 (permalink)
I'm a family man - I run a family business.
 
Redjake's Avatar
 
Location: Wilson, NC
Quote:
Originally posted by TheKak
Vin is a pretty talented guy IMO. I even saw videos of him breakdancing a few days ago! I'll see if I can find them again.
Haha, I found that a couple of years ago, and we all watched it in my dorm room at college. Like half my floor was laughing hysterically, because, well, it was Vin Diesel break dancing
__________________
Off the record, on the q.t., and very hush-hush.
Redjake is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 10:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
Holy Knight of The Alliance
 
Location: Stormwind, The Eastern Kingdoms, Azeroth
Quote:
Originally posted by Redjake
Haha, I found that a couple of years ago, and we all watched it in my dorm room at college. Like half my floor was laughing hysterically, because, well, it was Vin Diesel break dancing
Oh God. I just remembered that. Jesus. That was hilarious.
__________________
What do you say to one last showdown?
- Ocelot, Metal Gear Solid 3

The password is "Who are the Patriots?" and "La-Li-Lu-Le-Lo." "La-Li-Lu-Le-Lo." Gotcha.
- The Colonel and Snake, Metal Gear Solid 3
bltzkriegmcanon is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 11:19 AM   #20 (permalink)
Death Leprechaun
 
Confederate's Avatar
 
Location: College Station, TX
Quote:
Originally posted by Redjake
Haha, I found that a couple of years ago, and we all watched it in my dorm room at college. Like half my floor was laughing hysterically, because, well, it was Vin Diesel break dancing
http://media.ebaumsworld.com/index.php?e=diesel1.wmv
http://media.ebaumsworld.com/index.php?e=diesel2.wmv
Confederate is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 11:49 AM   #21 (permalink)
Holy Knight of The Alliance
 
Location: Stormwind, The Eastern Kingdoms, Azeroth
Whut-oh Confederate comes through with the linkage! Watch out, now!
__________________
What do you say to one last showdown?
- Ocelot, Metal Gear Solid 3

The password is "Who are the Patriots?" and "La-Li-Lu-Le-Lo." "La-Li-Lu-Le-Lo." Gotcha.
- The Colonel and Snake, Metal Gear Solid 3
bltzkriegmcanon is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 05:35 PM   #22 (permalink)
Insane
 
Moobie's Avatar
 
Location: baked beans
Wow, I just checked out the preview trailers off IGN and this game actually looks pretty cool. Although it didn't show what his nightvision looked like. But this might actually have something to it.
__________________
Obscenity is the crutch of inarticulate motherfuckers.

We like money. Give us your money you stupid consumer whore.

Moobie is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 12:23 AM   #23 (permalink)
Yo dawg, I herd u like...
 
Apokx's Avatar
 
Location: memes.
The game is short enough to be able to beat it before taking it back to the video store.
Apokx is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:31 PM   #24 (permalink)
Blood + Fire
 
Mr.Deflok's Avatar
 
Location: New Zealand
This game makes my pants bulge... it's so gritty and cinematic, beautiful!
Mr.Deflok is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 03:54 PM   #25 (permalink)
NotMinus
Guest
 
Word! Great game.
 
Old 07-26-2004, 06:00 PM   #26 (permalink)
Natalie Portman is sexy.
 
omega2K4's Avatar
 
Location: The Outer Rim
Its alright, nothing to cream your pants over. Its way too short to warrant a purchase.
__________________
"While the State exists there can be no freedom. When there is freedom there will be no State." - Vladimir Ilyich Lenin

"Reason has always existed, but not always in a reasonable form."- Karl Marx
omega2K4 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 10:00 PM   #27 (permalink)
Insane
 
the actor and the movies he play in (besides saving private ryan) suck ass....

but the game is great. thats just my opinion. i hate the dude but love his game. rent it first and see how you like it..and make your own decision. your a grown ass man.
__________________
Best told at a place called...the TFP.
on a quest...
quest1mark is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 10:24 AM   #28 (permalink)
Oracle & Apollyon
 
Prophecy's Avatar
 
Location: Limbus Patrum
the "night vision" looks just like his eye sight in the movies.
I've beaten the game yet, but I'm having a lot of fun. It was definately worth the rental so far.
__________________
La Disciplina La Mia Spada,
La Fede Il Mio Schermo,
Non salti Ciecamente In Incertezza,
E Potete Raccogliere Le Ricompense.
Prophecy is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 12:07 PM   #29 (permalink)
Insane
 
an excellent rental, but not worth buying. very engaging and immersive experience. I sat down upon renting it and ended up spending 4 hours on it. This game actually kinda made me like Vin Diesel, though he makes a lot of bad decisions as far as what movies he stars in.
__________________
If it wasn't for microsoft, if we lived in the middle east? Y'all wouldn't have no hands....
ironchefkorea is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 01:15 PM   #30 (permalink)
Blood + Fire
 
Mr.Deflok's Avatar
 
Location: New Zealand
I've been playing this game back and forth with Onimusha 3 and Breakdown, now I've got Doom 3... I'm a little worried that I'll look at TCoR and say "OMG, t3h grfx r sux0r!". Doom 3 is just out of this world, unrivalled!

Still a wicked game though TCoR is, will check out if this is true or not tonight.
Mr.Deflok is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 11:03 PM   #31 (permalink)
Single :) FFA
 
ChasingAmy's Avatar
 
Location: Prince George, British Columbia
I think that the graphics in TCoR are on par, if not better than, Doom 3. The lighting system is amazing textures are awsome. I think the player models are better in TCoR, with there could have been more Xeno's though, the small ones were these lame looking things... like a walking cream puff with a tail. Can only imagine what it would look like with a spanky new Vid card!
__________________
Don't you know about the bird?
ChasingAmy is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 04:14 PM   #32 (permalink)
Getting Medieval on your ass
 
Coppertop's Avatar
 
Location: 13th century Europe
Yeah, I've been playing the game on my PC and calling it a cross between Splinter Cell and Doom is a perfect description.

The game engine is beautiful and the gameplay, while suffering from consolitis, is good. Diesel is a decent actor, I don't see what the big deal is. He won't be winning any Oscars, sure, but comparing him to Chuck Norris? Please.
Coppertop is offline  
 

Tags
chronicles, reviews, riddick

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:10 PM.

Tilted Forum Project

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
© 2002-2012 Tilted Forum Project

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360