Tilted Forum Project Discussion Community  

Go Back   Tilted Forum Project Discussion Community > The Academy > Tilted Life


 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2004, 08:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Upright
 
Location: Calgary
I need some opinions.

Ok, so I'm a computer engineering student and I've run out of money. I'm in my second year now, and i'm doing really good in all my courses. Last year I was working, but I didn't do nearly as good in school.

I also have about $2000 racked up in credit card bills(I know, my bad), and no way to pay them right now. So I've decided I need to at least work a bit, just to pay the minimum monthly payment. The problem is, I can't find any decent paying jobs that are worth me missing out on homework/studying time.

My question is, should I take a crappy fast food type job that only pays $6 or $7 an hour and risk getting lower marks that might hurt my chances of finding a good job once this year is over? I only have 6 months left in my program, and I really really want to do good. How bad would it really be if I only pay the minimum payment say 3 out of the next 6 months, or whenever I can? I don't want to ruin my credit, but I think I can handel a few blemishes.

Basically would you do the crappy job thing? Or wait for the end of the year, or for a better paying job that would be more worth the lack of study time?
__________________
What am i doing on this planet?
R_R_R is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 09:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Upright
 
Location: Memphis, TN
crappy job, i work in the campus computer lab IT SUCKS, money sucks hours suck... but as you see i just play on the computer all day, i could study here but im too lazy i do it at home!
Lizzy is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Insane
 
Location: MD
Best thing is to find a job that you can do some homework or studying at. I also got a job for a while in the computer lab. Didn't do my work, but I could have.
avhg1 is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Upright
 
crappy

crappy job is the best idea from what i think
Spec1al is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tilted Cat Head
 
Cynthetiq's Avatar
 
Administrator
Location: Manhattan, NY
GPAs and grades don't really make that much of a difference if you are a competent and good worker no matter what industry or position.
__________________
I don't care if you are black, white, purple, green, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, hippie, cop, bum, admin, user, English, Irish, French, Catholic, Protestant, Jewish, Buddhist, Muslim, indian, cowboy, tall, short, fat, skinny, emo, punk, mod, rocker, straight, gay, lesbian, jock, nerd, geek, Democrat, Republican, Libertarian, Independent, driver, pedestrian, or bicyclist, either you're an asshole or you're not.
Cynthetiq is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 11:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Drifting
 
amonkie's Avatar
 
Administrator
Location: Windy City
Does your school have any student loan options? If you think you're only six months away, that might be an option so that you can focus on finishing strong, and then devote your time to finding a more permanent job in the vein of your expertise or interest.
__________________
Calling from deep in the heart, from where the eyes can't see and the ears can't hear, from where the mountain trails end and only love can go... ~~~ Three Rivers Hare Krishna
amonkie is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 11:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Upright
 
Location: Calgary
Thanks for the posts. You've all pretty much told me what I expected. I guess I just needed a little push in the right direction. I need a job, so I guess I'll take what I can can get. Even if it is crappy. Thanks again all.
__________________
What am i doing on this planet?
R_R_R is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 06:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Psycho
 
gonadman's Avatar
 
Location: Philly
How about trying to find some work in your field? There is a lot of people out there that don't know much more about thier computers than how to turn it on. They always have problems due to viruses or lack of routine file maintenance- especially older folk. How about putting up some signs in supermarkets or post offices of area communities and charging a very reasonable hourly rate. Or maybe a special price to upgrade or increase performance? That way you can set your own hours and still do something you enjoy.
__________________
For me there is only the traveling on paths that have heart, on any path that may have heart. There I travel, and the only worthwhile challenge is to traverse its full length. And there I travel, looking, looking, ...breathlessly.
-Carlos Castaneda
gonadman is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 01:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Crazy
 
Take the job. In the long run, bad credit ratings will follow you forever. you'll find that you're paying extra points and interest, or flat unable to get a loan. Take the job, learn the lesson. Best of luck.
Mr. Market is offline  
 

Tags
opinions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:07 PM.

Tilted Forum Project

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
© 2002-2012 Tilted Forum Project

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360