1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We've had very few donations over the year. I'm going to be short soon as some personal things are keeping me from putting up the money. If you have something small to contribute it's greatly appreciated. Please put your screen name as well so that I can give you credit. Click here: Donations
    Dismiss Notice

Opening own business

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by ralphie250, Oct 27, 2014.

1. ralphie250

ralphie250 Fully Erect Donor

As most of y'all know i am a transmission man. I have been doing it for 16 years. I am contemplating opening my own shop. I have no experience with doing it. I can do the work, and the clerical part but don't know how about going about it. How much down, etc.... Have you done it? Can you give me some help please. Only reason I've never done it before is cost of health insurance. But now that i look at it, its not that much more than I'm paying now.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Baraka_Guru

Baraka_Guru Möderätor Staff Member

The success rate of startups is rather low. In most cases, fewer than a third of businesses will still be around ten years after being launched. If you have no business experience, the risk is much higher.

But don't despair. There are ways around this.

Besides taking some basic courses in business management, you could also look into the idea of becoming a franchisee. If there is one thing that can significantly reduce the risk of starting a business and keeping it running, it's franchises. McDonald's. Have you heard of them? This is an example of a widely successful franchiser. Very few McDonald's franchises fail. (Or have failed, as the case may be.)