1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We've had very few donations over the year. I'm going to be short soon as some personal things are keeping me from putting up the money. If you have something small to contribute it's greatly appreciated. Please put your screen name as well so that I can give you credit. Click here: Donations
    Dismiss Notice

Science vs. Philosophy - siblings bitchin' at each other about who's shotgun

Discussion in 'Tilted Philosophy, Politics, and Economics' started by rogue49, Jun 10, 2012.

1. rogue49

rogue49 Tech Kung Fu Artist Staff Member

I'm a Physicist...not by profession (yet) but by "hobby" and nature.
    I'm a Philosopher by default, since it is my habit to ask why and talk about EVERYTHING.
    And I disagree with the arrogance shown often by both sides.

All information is useful, even if at the moment invalid. (you never know when it may become valid...)
    All discussion is useful, no one should patronize or dismiss the other.
    Communication is a tool.
    Math is a tool.

Sometimes, you leverage what you can observe and test.
    Sometimes, you leverage a tool to guide you to another point you cannot observe. (ask old-school navigators this...)
    Neither should be discounted. Both are good methods to work.

A wise man, if possible, says "all of the above"
    Then eats his meal with relish yet discretion.
    Enjoying all the tastes, known & new.
    And when full or finished, sated, waits for the next meal with anticipation.

I've found both fields, often have become overly invested in their own conversations and formalism.
    It's not how you've said something...that's just syntax, rules & grammer.
    But what you said, why you said it...did you get across what you're trying to impart??

Because if you've lost the audience, you've lost the game.