1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We've had very few donations over the year. I'm going to be short soon as some personal things are keeping me from putting up the money. If you have something small to contribute it's greatly appreciated. Please put your screen name as well so that I can give you credit. Click here: Donations
    Dismiss Notice

Who will Guard Me?

Discussion in 'Tilted Art, Photography, Music & Literature' started by Drider_it, Jan 23, 2012.

1. Drider_it

Drider_it New Member

I wrote this the last night a saw my Uncle Jerry alive. I was furious in that he was being taken from us. I directed that anger into a short story. Not many people have seen it. I just now let a few read it. Thought I would finally post it. Yeah I'm not a professional writer. And it was all done in a moment of conviction. I left it as is, to show the emotions I was having at the time. Hope if you read it you enjoy it.

Who Will Guard Me?

The knight stood in the Cathedral. Falling to his knees, he looked over the vacant and disuse ahead of him. His armor rent, his shield broken as it fell to the floor. His hilt of his sword laying at his knees the blade shattered in the battle to get to the House of the Lord.

All around him he saw the fallen. None could stand to fight the being before him. There at the alter lay the last warrior to defend the church. The warrior, his last beats of his heart counted the seconds before he died.

A movement in the rafters drew the knight’s attention. The shadows moved, there death hovered greedy and waiting. As the warrior’s heart beat its last, death swooped down to claim the last soul. Death looked to the helpless knight, laughing as he reached into the chest of the warrior, eager to devour this last worthy soul.

The knight uttered a prayer as a tear fell. Time stopped the tear slowed and froze in midair.